Call for Awards

Every one of our Emergency Medical Services personnel deserves recognition. Our annual EMS Symposium Awards Ceremony gives you and IREMSC the opportunity to salute EMS providers who have made outstanding contributions to their community and fellow Alaskan citizens. The awards ceremony will be held on the first day of Symposium.

Below are the award categories that will be presented.

MEDICAL DIRECTOR OF THE YEAR: This award recognizes a physician who exemplifies leadership and devotion to the EMS community and whose efforts have favorably impacted the Interior Alaska EMS system.

PRE-HOSPITAL PROVIDER OF THE YEAR: This award recognizes an outstanding achievement by a volunteer or paid EMS provider who has distinguished themselves by performing exceptionally meritorious life-saving skills or has made significant contributions to the improvement of the EMS system in their area. 

EMS SERVICE OF THE YEAR: This award recognizes the outstanding contributions of a First Responder, Ambulance, Fire, or Rescue organization in providing emergency pre-hospital care above and beyond their normal responsibilities. 

EMS EDUCATOR OF THE YEAR: This award recognizes an EMS educator who displays initiative, leadership, and dedication to EMS training and through their efforts, has helped improve the Interior Alaska EMS system.

SPECIAL ACHIEVEMENT AWARD: This award is intended for an individual who deserves recognition for something that might not fit into other categories. Examples include an outstanding event, a life-saving procedure, a special service performed for the community, or even a long history of service.

If you know of a person or group who you feel deserves one of the awards, please submit a completed nomination form in one of the following ways:

  • Email it to the Executive Director at
  • Print and mail it to our office
  • Fill out and submit the online form below